May 10, 2008

  • My Book is Now Available — BUT WAIT!

    Today I received word from Outskirts Press that my book has been published. There is a Web site which describes the book and where it can be ordered from Amazon.com (not yet available at Barnes and Noble, but should be soon). It can also be downloaded in the form of an e-Book. The Web site address for my book is: http://outskirtspress.com/joejesseph

    HOWEVER, the publisher has advised that it would be best for me to examine the free hard copy they will send before I myself purchase any more copies, so it would be best for others to wait until I’ve had a chance to approve the final product. I’m sure there will be some minor editorial kinds of errors in the book, although I’ve been through it several times. Outskirts Press does a quality check before publication as well. Still, while I’m willing to live with a few minor errors, I might catch something significant that needs changing when I finally examine the hard copy, and that will not be for another week or two.


    (A note about the e-Book: it is in Adobe Acrobat format which includes
    a search function to make referencing easy. That search function will find either a specific page or designated words and phrases. If you use the
    book’s Index, in order to find a specific page in the Adobe version you have to add 20 to the page number found in the Index
    in order to arrive at the correct page.
    That’s because Adobe counts all pages, including the twenty
    which are not designated in Arabic numerals. So, if the Index refers
    you to page 148, you can either scroll up to that page, or you can
    search for page 168 using the Adobe search box in the tool bar at the top. It would then look like this: 168/356, with the number
    168 being entered in the page search box. Of course, searching for words and phrases is easy with Adobe: just enter the word or phrase in the box designated “Find.”)


    Caveat Emptor! (Let the buyer beware.)

    Eventually there could be a second edition, depending upon my own re-reading as well as feedback from readers who may have suggestions.

    Of course I’m happy that the book has reached this stage and I plan to celebrate later today.


Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *